Bhutan, at a glance

Formal Name Kingdom of Bhutan
Political System Constitutional Monarchy
Head of State His Majesty The King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck
Prime Minister Tshering Tobgay
Legislature Bicameral Parliament
Borders Landlocked between India and China
Surface area 38,394 square kilometres
Population 738,000
Urban population 33.9%
Population aged 0-14 29.4%
Population aged 15-64 65.8%
Population aged 65+ 4.8%
Old age dependency ratio 7.26% of working population
Life expectancy at birth 63 years
Median age 24 years
Density 19.2 people per square kilometre
Country code BT
Languages Dzongkha (official) English is widely spoken, especially in urban areas and used as language of instruction in schools
Climate Varies regionally
Religion 75% Mahayan Buddhist, 25% Hinduism
Time zone UTC +6
Administration 20 districts, with each one having sub-districts
Currency Bhutanese Ngultrum, pegged at par to the Indian Rupee, which is also widely accepted
GDP (US$) 1.65 billion (2011)
GDP per capita (US$) 2,234 (2011)